The Cabinet, during its meeting on 29 December 2020, approved additional public holidays in a special case and designated regional public holidays for 2021.

 

According to the Cabinet decision, Friday, 12 February, which is the 2021 Chinese New Year, is included as an extra day off. Other additional public holidays include Monday, 12 April; Tuesday, 27 July; and Friday, 24 September.

 

As for regional public holidays, Friday, 26 March (Tradition of Paying Homage to Phra That), is set as a regional public holiday in the North; Monday, 10 May (Bun Bang Fai Rocket Festival), a regional public holiday in the Northeast; Wednesday, 6 October (Festival of the Tenth Lunar Month), a regional public holiday in the South; and Thursday, 21 October (Ok Phansa Festival), a regional public holiday in the central region.

 

The substitution for King Chulalongkorn Memorial Day has been shifted from Monday, 25 October, to Friday, 22 October.

 

These special holidays have been approved for the year 2021 in order to boost public spending. State enterprises, the Bank of Thailand, and the Ministry of Labor are allowed to consider these holidays as appropriate and in accordance with relevant laws.

 

The Cabinet also assigned the Ministry of Tourism and Sports to work with other agencies, such as the Ministry of Finance, the Ministry of Transport, and the Ministry of Commerce, in issuing incentive measures to encourage the people to travel for tourism and consume more domestic products.

 

These measures will also help small and medium-sized enterprises, promote the local economy, and stimulate the country’s economy on a continual basis.

 

Source: The Government Public Relations Department